New School Faculty Ratify Agreement

Volume CII, No. 2February, 2002

Last month’s Allegro reported that an agreement had been reached covering faculty in the New School’s Jazz and Contemporary Music Program. The ratification vote was under way as that issue went to press.

The contract was approved by a resounding 37-1 vote.

Members of the negotiating committee included Armen Donelian, David Glasser, Arun Luthra, Bill Kirchner, David Lopato, Junior Mance, Jimmy Owens and Charles Tolliver. They were assisted by Local 802 President Bill Moriarity, legal counsel Lennie Leibowitz, Assistant to the President Bill Dennison and Jazz Rep Natasha Jackson.