Big sound

Scenes of Spring

Volume 112, No. 6June, 2012

The Queens Symphony Orchestra under conductor Constantine Kitsopoulos recently performed a new work for 45 instrumentalists and 190 vocalists entitled “1001 Voices: a Symphony for Queens,” at Queens College. Tabla player Deep Singh was a featured soloist. The work was composed by Frank London, who also plays trumpet in the Klezmatics. The concert was performed under a Local 802 contract. For more information on the Queens Symphony Orchestra, see Photos by Walter Karling.

Barbara Oldham, RJ Kelly and Frank Donaruma

Lucy Goeres, Kathleen Fink and Marsha Heller

Styra Avins

John Charles Thomas

Melanie Baker, Sandra Billingslea and Laura Mole

Constantine Kitsopoulos

Sean Statser

Dave Wilson

Deep Singh