EAP: Emerging Artists Project UPDATE

Volume 118, No. 3March, 2018

Sara Cutler

Local 802 is very pleased to report that the Emerging Artists Project continues to move toward selecting our first awardee. The jurors have finished their work rating 52 groups of musicians who perform all styles of music. The level of artistry shown by the applicant ensembles was extremely high. The second round of review has begun, and a subcommittee is tasked with determining each applicant’s business acumen, financial need and ability to make good use of the EAP grant. Ultimately, the subcommittee has a mandate to make its decision based on two factors: strength of application, and alignment of groups with the mission of Local 802. That mission, specifically, is two-fold: to expand membership and performances under the protections of a union agreement, and to better support emerging artists and musicians in New York City.

At the membership meeting on Feb. 7, there was a lively discussion of the EAP that included many good questions from members concerning both the structure of the project and the process. Here are some of the topics discussed.


An amendment was presented at the meeting proposing a change to the Local 802 bylaws that would allot 0.25 percent of work dues to a budget line item designated the Public Relations Fund. Members offered friendly amendments to some of the language in the amendment, which is re-worded and printed here in this month’s Allegro and will be brought again to the members at the June 6 membership meeting. Though a bylaw amendment isn’t necessary to fund the project, our local and leadership believe it prudent to codify the mechanism by which this project, and other innovative projects like it, are funded.

In December, the EAP was awarded its own $2,800 grant from the AFM, which runs a program designed to help locals increase membership. We would like to thank AFM President Ray Hair and  AFM Director of Freelance Services Paul Sharpe for their support of this innovative program and hope that it can be replicated across the country.


Finally, we would like to thank our jurors, who donated hours of their time to listen, rate and comment on all our applicant groups. These esteemed musicians are:

  1. Ben Allison, bass/composer (Ben Allison Band; Think Free; The Easy Way Trio…)
  2. Steve Bernstein, trumpet/composer/arranger (Sexmob; Diaspora Soul; Midnight Ramble Band; Lou Reed; Linda Ronstadt; Darlene Love…)
  3. Edward Carroll, trumpeter/conductor/teacher (Head of brass studies, CalArts; director, Center for Advanced Musical Studies at Chosen Vale; trumpet faculty, Dartmouth College…)
  4. Eric Cha-Beach, percussionist (So Percussion; performer-in-residence at Princeton University; faculty, Bard College Conservatory of Music…)
  5. Ray Chew, composer/producer/performer (Diana Ross; Jennifer Hudson; Aretha Franklin; Rihanna…)
  6. Earl Gardner, trumpet (Saturday Night Live band…)
  7. Gil Goldstein, pianist/producer/arranger/accordianist (Pat Metheny; Al Jarreau…)
  8. Stefon Harris, percussionist (four- time Grammy nominee; director of jazz arts at Manhattan School of Music…)
  9. Erica Kiesewetter, violin (concertmaster, American Symphony and Stamford Symphony…)
  10. David Krakauer, clarinet (Grammy nominee; klezmer/classical/multi-genre…)
  11. Ted Nash, saxophone/composer (Jazz@Lincoln Center Orchestra; a founder of Jazz Composers Orchestra…)
  12. Josh Quillen, percussionist/composer (So Percussion; steel drum artist; faculty, Bard College Conservatory…)
  13. Marc Ribot, guitarist, composer, bandleader (Tom Waits, T-Bone Burnett, John Zorn, Elvis Costello…)
  14. Maria Schneider, piano (five-time Grammy winner; Jazz@Lincoln Center; David Bowie; St. Paul Chamber…)
  15. Weston Sprott, trombone (Metropolitan Opera Orchestra…)
  16. Jason Treuting, percussion/composer (So Percussion…)

Harpist Sara Cutler is a member of the Local 802 Executive Board.