President’s Report

Local 802 Endorses…

Volume CV, No. 11November, 2005

David Lennon

Mayor: Mike Bloomberg

Mayor Bloomberg has a demonstrable record on the arts and his administration has proven to be one of the most supportive of the arts community in decades. His administration lobbied successfully to create tax incentives for the film industry in order to promote growth; heavily promoted public arts works; created the first public school arts curriculum in a generation; and supported zoning policies to encourage the growth of art galleries in Chelsea. Many aspects of the arts and entertainment industry is dependent upon the health of our tourism and, under the Bloomberg administration, tourism is at its highest recorded level. New York’s hotel occupancy rates are at highest levels and now 298,000 New Yorkers hold tourism-related jobs, more than ever before.

Local 802 is proud to join our brothers and sisters in the labor movement in support of Mayor Bloomberg. The unions that have endorsed his candidacy include the New York City Central Labor Council, all of the IATSE locals, UNITE HERE!, the Doctors’ Council, the New York Building and Construction Trades Council, Teamsters Joint Council 16, and the Office of Professional Employees International Union (OPEIU), as well as many others. Our relationship with the Bloomberg administration has continued to grow. We have successfully worked with the administration as chair of the Hudson Yards Affordable Housing Committee and anticipate working with the administration on the promotion and increased visibility of live music in New York City.

The candidates who we endorsed who have competitive general elections include:

City Council District #4
(Upper East Side, Central Park South, Grand Central, Tudor City, Waterside, Peter Cooper Village, Carnegie Hill, Stuyvesant Town, United Nations, part of Yorkville, Turtle Bay)


Dan Garodnick is a litagator who represented the Partnership for New York City in the successful Campaign for Fiscal Equity lawsuit seeking higher standards and equitable funding for public school students. He also served as director of the New York Civil Rights Coalition teaching New York public school students non-violent ways to combat racial discrimination, and to use government to effect social change. Endorsed by every elected official on the eastside of Manhattan.

City Council District #5
(Beekman, Sutton Place, Upper East Side, Yorkville, Roosevelt Island, part of Turtle Bay, Carnegie Hill)


Jessica Lappin is district chief of staff to New York City Council Speaker Gifford Miller. She has served on the boards of the Sutton Area Community group, the Advocacy Committee of Sanctuary for Families, and the Lenox Hill Democratic Club. She has worked tirelessly on behalf of labor.

City Council District #43
(Bay Ridge, parts of Dyker Heights, Bensonhurst, Boro Park)


Vincent Gentile was elected to the City Council in February 2003. He served three terms as a State Senator and has been a strong advocate for labor in his two years in the City Council. He is a former president of the Bay Ridge Community Council and a member of the Neighborhood Improvement Association of St. Rosalia-Regina Pacis. Councilmember Gentile also has the Working Families Party line.

Local 802 endorsements and wins in the primary election included:

Manhattan Borough President: Scott Stringer

…and the following City Council candidates, whose districts are listed in parentheses after their names…

Gale Brewer (6)
Dan Garodnick (4)
Alan Gerson (1)
Robert Jackson (7)
Jessica Lappin (5)
Miguel Martinez (10)
Rosie Mendez (2)
Christine Quinn (3)

Joseph Addabbo (32)
Tony Avella (19)
Leroy Comrie (27)
Dennis Gallagher (30)
James Gennarro (24)
Eric Gioia (26)
Melinda Katz (29)
John Liu (20)
Hiram Monserratte (21)
James Sanders (31)
Helen Sears (25)
Peter Vallone (22)
David Weprin (23)

Michael McMahon (49)

Charles Barron (42)
Yvette Clarke (40)
Bill DeBlasio (39)
Simcha Felder (44)
Lew Fidler (46)
Vincent Gentile (43)
Sara Gonzalez (38)
Tish James (35)
Martin Malave-Dilan (37)
Darlene Miely (41)
Mike Nelson (48)
Domenic Recchia (47)
Diana Reyna (34)
Kendell Stewart (45)
Al Vann (36)
David Yassky (33)

Carmen Arroyo (17)
Maria Baez (14)
Helen Foster (16)
Annabel Palma (18)
Joel Rivera (15)
Larry Seabrook (12)