New School jazz faculty elect their Executive Committee

Volume 120, No. 11December, 2020

Todd Bryant Weeks

At the New School for Jazz and Contemporary music, where 76 part-time faculty members are faced with austerity measures and reduced hours, the bargaining unit held an election for its Executive Committee, as called for in the CBA, which was completed on November 25.

The committee acts in an advisory capacity, working with the full-time faculty members and the administration to oversee the issues of appointments, recommendations concerning development and revision of course and degree proposals, new programs and degrees, student life policies, faculty review, health and safety, diversity and affirmative action, and more.

Six seats were open, and the winners were Gene Perla, Ben Allison, Steve Cárdenas, Fay Victor, David Lopato and Rachel Z Hakim.